Juno-winning guitarist Jocelyn Gould has shared the details of her latest album, Sonic Bouquet.

Building on the success of her first two albums, Gould returns with a studio recording intended to capture the spirit and spontaneity of a live club performance. Sonic Bouquet was recorded in a single day, immediately after Gould’s return to Toronto from a six-week, 33-show tour of the United States. Gould and her band had landed in Toronto together just in time to start a four-night run at the Rex Hotel. The morning after their last show, they entered the studio to record this nine-song set.

Gould’s ensemble features an unconventional front line of two guitars and clarinet. Hailing from all over North America and spanning three generations, the featured musicians include drummer Quincy Davis from Texas, bassist Rodney Whitaker and guitarist Randy Napoleon from Michigan, pianist Will Bonness from Winnipeg, and clarinetist Virginia MacDonald from Toronto.

The album is full of swing, bebop, and blues, with a repertoire that includes jazz standards (both well-known and obscure) and original compositions. The title Sonic Bouquet refers to a musical process in which each musician can add their own colour, timbre, and personality to a recording. Both Gould and Napoleon contributed arrangements and original music written specifically for this collaboration.

Here’s the track listing:

  1. Trail Blazer
  2. Tender is the Night
  3. My Foolish Heart
  4. The Kicker
  5. Jessica’s Birthday
  6. Spring Regardless
  7. Last of the Rounders
  8. Is That So?
  9. Napoleon’s Prelude

Jocelyn Gould’s Sonic Bouquet is out Oct. 13, 2023.