Juno-winning musician Brad Turner assembled an all-star quintet for his latest album The Magnificent.

Led by Turner on piano and trumpet, the band features tenor saxophonist Cory Weeds, guitarist Peter Bernstein, bassist Neil Swainson and drummer Quincy Davis. Taking its title from a 1956 recording by Thad Jones, The Magnificent features nine original compositions.

A fixture of the Canadian jazz scene since the early 1990s, Turner has released a steady stream of jazz recordings as a leader with his quartet, his trio, and his acclaimed ensemble Metalwood, featuring Mike Murley, Chris Tarry and Ian Froman.

The Magnificent came about when Weeds, owner of Cellar Music Group, obtained funding to make some recordings, which he wanted to use with Vancouver jazz musicians to make “the records of their dreams.” Weeds picked Turner to be one of the artists and the label head asked him who he wanted to record with. Without hesitation, Turner declared his wish list: Bernstein, Swainson, and Davis. Later, Turner also asked Weeds to play tenor sax on four tracks, and the band was complete. The group performed together as a unit for the first time during two nights at Frankie’s Jazz Club, then they recorded a third night at Frankie’s and a studio session the following day.

Here’s the track listing:

  1. You’re OK
  2. Barney’s Castle
  3. Slapped My Mind
  4. Virtue Signals
  5. To Begin, Begin
  6. Bernice
  7. The Magnificent
  8. Theme for Jocie
  9. Rosemary

The Brad Turner Quintet’s The Magnificent is out Sept. 22, 2023, via Cellar Music Group.