Don Braden has announced the upcoming release of Earth Wind and Wonder Volume 2.

It’s the follow-up to the saxophonist, composer and arranger’s first volume of selected repertoire by Earth, Wind & Fire and Stevie Wonder that was released in 2018.

Like its predecessor, the new album features imaginative rearrangements of songs by two of Braden’s early musical influences. Braden’s talents can be heard on tenor saxophone, flute and alto flute. Joining him are Art Hirahara and Miki Hayama on piano and keyboard, bassist Kenny Davis, drummer Jeremy Warren and percussionist Kahlil Kwame Bell.

“My main goal with this Volume 2 was to capture our real band sound on new material developed over several years of playing together,” Braden says. “We are definitely pushing for the next level of true jazz energy in the performances: more swing, creativity and connection to jazz’s African-American roots.”

Braden adds that the album features deeper melodic, harmonic and rhythmic interactions in its rich arrangements. “I truly believe that all these qualities intermingled with these amazing songs make for wonderful jazz journeys, both for us players and for the audiences.”

Here’s the track listing:

  1. In the Stone
  2. Master Blaster (Jammin’)
  3. Reasons
  4. Profusion
  5. Send One Your Love
  6. Bird of Beauty
  7. Arise
  8. Creepin’
  9. That’s the Way of the World

Don Braden’s Earth Wind and Wonder Volume 2 is out June 16, 2023, via Creative Perspective Music.