Toronto-based bassist, composer and bandleader Artie Roth is set to release his third album, Resonants.

The recording follows the Artie Roth Quartet’s critically acclaimed prior releases Currently Experiencing (2015) and Discern (2017).

Formed in 2013, the group features drummer Anthony Michelli, saxophonist and flautist Mike Filice, and guitarist Sam Dickinson.

Blending elements of jazz, rock, funk, folk and ambient music, Resonants features “lyrical melodies, catchy bass lines, driving rhythms and soaring guitars [that] weave a daring, experimental tapestry of genre-crossing music,” according to a press release.

The album was recorded with the Juno-winning, Grammy-nominated producer Roman Klun in the fall of 2022 at Daniel Lanois’ Grant Avenue Studio in Hamilton.

Here’s the track listing:

  1. Sound and Sky
  2. Sky Blues
  3. Circle Maker
  4. Second Moment
  5. Flies with Butterflies
  6. Refrain
  7. Resonants – Chandelier Tears
  8. Held
  9. Out of the Abyss
  10. Resound and Ground

The Artie Roth Quartet’s Resonants is out May 12, 2023, via TPR Records.