Charles Lloyd returns with his latest recording The Sky Will Still Be There Tomorrow, a double album of new studio work from the prolific and respected saxophonist.

The Sky Will Still Be There Tomorrow features 15 of Lloyd’s original compositions, including six brand new works.

Here, Lloyd’s band features pianist Jason Moran, bassist Larry Grenadier, and drummer Brian Blade.

The record is set to be released on March 15, Lloyd’s 86th birthday. It’s the musician’s 11th album with Blue Note and his first new studio recording since 2018’s Vanished Gardens and 2021’s Tone Poem, which were both released during the same studio sessions in 2017.

One of the most significant figures in jazz over the last 65 years, Lloyd is an NEA Jazz Master who has released more than 50 albums as a leader or co-leader. His latest effort was 2022’s Trio of Trios, an expansive project that featured three distinct albums each in a different trio setting.

Here’s the track listing:

  1. Defiant, Tender Warrior
  2. The Lonely One
  3. Monk’s Dance
  4. The Water Is Rising
  5. Late Bloom
  6. Booker’s Garden
  7. The Ghost of Lady Day
  8. The Sky Will Still Be There Tomorrow
  9. Beyond Darkness
  10. Sky Valley, Spirit of the Forest
  11. Balm In Gilead
  12. Lift Every Voice and Sing
  13. When the Sun Comes Up, Darkness Is Gone
  14. Cape to Cairo
  15. Defiant, Reprise; Homeward Dove

Charles Lloyd’s The Sky Will Still Be There Tomorrow is out March 15, 2024, on Blue Note Records.