Pianist and composer Vijay Iyer takes another creative leap with his latest album Compassion.

Compassion is Iyer’s eighth release as a leader for ECM Records. The recording follows his acclaimed 2021 album Uneasy, with which he debuted his trio featuring bassist Linda May Han Oh and drummer Tyshawn Sorey. It also follows his work with Arooj Aftab and Shahzad Ismaily on Love in Exile, the trio’s debut album released this year.

Watch the video for “Prelude: Orison” below: