Caity Gyorgy releases new album Featuring

Building on her momentum as one of Canada’s fastest-rising jazz musicians, Caity Gyorgy has just shared her new album Featuring.

The 13-track album is described as the Juno-winning vocalist and composer’s first LP. It comes quickly on the heels of her mini-album No Bounds in 2020 and her Now Pronouncing EP in 2021.

Described as “a 100 per cent dream project,” Featuring includes 11 of Gyorgy’s own original compositions.

It features her longtime quartet and a roster of invited guests including Pat LaBarbera, Jocelyn Gould, Allison Au, Laura Anglade and Christine Jensen. Gyorgy also arranged and produced the album.

On the album, Gyorgy sings about shyness (I Feel Foolish), love (My Cardiologist) and friendship (The Feeling is Mutual), among other subjects. It showcases her ballad work (Start Again and I Miss Missing You), her well-known scat improvisation (Cover Up and It’s Pronounced George), and everything in between. “This is what I can do,” says Gyorgy.

Gyorgy, still only 24, is an alumnus of both the JAZZ.FM91 Youth Big Band and Jazzology.

Here’s the track listing:

  1. I Feel Foolish
  2. Cover Up
  3. It Might As Well Be Spring
  4. Start Again
  5. A Moment
  6. Look the Other Way
  7. I Miss Missing You
  8. ‘Tis Autumn
  9. My Cardiologist
  10. Ideal
  11. I Never Knew
  12. The Feeling is Mutual
  13. It’s Pronounced George

Caity Gyorgy’s Featuring is out Nov. 4, 2022.

Recommended Links