Jazz artists Caity Gyorgy, Will Bonness and Avataar are among the winners of the 51st annual Juno Awards.

It’s the first time any of these acts have won a Juno; they were among the 105 first-time nominees this year.

Toronto-based world-jazz ensemble Avataar won the award for vocal jazz album of the year (group) for their album WORLDVIEW. Led by saxophonist Sundar Viswanathan, the sextet features vocalist Felicity Williams, guitarist Michael Occhipinti, bassist Justin Gray, tabla player Ravi Naimpally and drummer Max Senitt. The record also has contributions from Aaron Lightstone on oud and Todd Pentney on keys.

(Lightstone, a music therapist and educator, leads JAZZ.FM91’s Music Therapy program at St. Michael’s Hospital in Toronto.)