Canadian pianist Will Bonness is set to release his fourth album Is This a Dream? as he follows up the success of his Juno-winning release.

Based out of Winnipeg and Toronto, Bonness won the Juno Award for jazz album of the year (solo) in 2022 for his recording Change of Plans.

Now, the musician is taking listeners on an “introspective journey,” using unique and varying combinations of instruments to set different moods throughout Is This a Dream? The nine tracks feature a combination of wordless vocals, clarinet, and arco bass, along with the familiar piano trio.

Bonness drew inspiration for the new album from his time in Toronto, where he met and collaborated with clarinetist Virginia MacDonald, bassist Daniel Fortin, and saxophonist Allison Au. Completing the ensemble are vocalist Jocelyn Gould and drummer Fabio Ragnelli, both of whom were featured on his previous record.

Is This a Dream? presents a blend of original compositions by Bonness and new arrangements of songs by Hoagy Carmichael, Billy Strayhorn, Cole Porter, and Tom Harrell.

Here’s the track listing:

  1. Round and Round
  2. I Get Along Without You Very Well
  3. Contraption
  4. Dusk
  5. Blood Count
  6. Rapture
  7. Reverie
  8. Odd Serenade
  9. Don’t Fence Me In

Will Bonness’s Is This a Dream? is out June 16, 2023.