Taylor Eigsti has announced his latest album Plot Armor.

It’s the pianist and composer’s ninth album and serves as the followup to his Grammy-winning recording Tree Falls.

The recording boasts two masters in each instrumental slot: vocalists Gretchen Parlato and Becca Stevens, saxophonists Ben Wendel and Dayna Stephens; guitarists Charles Altura and Julian Lage; keyboardists Maya Kronfeld and Eigsti himself; bassists David “DJ” Ginyard and Harish Raghavan; drummers Oscar Seaton, Jr., and Kendrick Scott.

It also features special guests Terence Blanchard and Lisa Fischer, along with a string quartet.

“The only instrument that didn’t have more than one representative was flute,” Eigsti notes. “But Rebecca Kleinmann did triple herself most of the time and played different parts. So she had clones, at least.”

Plot Armor continues Eigsti’s approach of showcasing 11 of his original compositions plus a standard.

With string arrangements by Andrew Balogh, the album’s orchestral sound showcases Eigsti’s compositions as well as his experience sharing the bandstand with the Turtle Island Quartet as a member of Blanchard’s E-Collective band.

Here’s the track listing:

  1. Let You Bee
  2. Bucket of F’s (feat. Ben Wendel)
  3. Look Around You (feat. Becca Stevens)
  4. Plot Armor
  5. Light Dream (feat. Terence Blanchard)
  6. Fire Within (feat. Lisa Fischer)
  7. The Rumor
  8. Actually
  9. Beyond the Blue (feat. Gretchen Parlato)
  10. 201918
  11. Bewitched Bothered and Bewildered
  12. Bad Sport Lobby

Taylor Eigsti’s Plot Armor is out March 1, 2024, via GroundUP.