Sheila Jordan delivers heartfelt trio set in Live at Mezzrow

An intimate performance in New York by famed vocalist Sheila Jordan is captured in the new album Live at Mezzrow.

It’s the first live recording of Jordan since 2015’s Better Than Anything.

Jordan performs alongside her longtime rhythm section, hwich includes Grammy-winning pianist Alan Broadbent and bassist Harvie S.

The live set was captured at the Mezzrow Jazz Club on Oct. 25, 2021, a particularly cold autumn night in New York.

On Live at Mezzrow, Jordan sings her way through a musical retrospective featuring heartfelt arrangements of an array of jazz standards, including The Touch of Your Lips, Look for the Silver Lining and, fittingly, Autumn in New York. She incorporates her trademark bebop vocal style into a variety of classics, including compositions by Charlie Parker, Miles Davis and Abbey Lincoln.

“At age 93, Sheila Jordan delivers a vociferous performance of standards and bebop,” says the club’s owner Spike Wilner, who served as executive producer for the album. “She literally glows with the resonant age of her accomplishments and associations.”

Recommended Links

Here’s the track listing:

  1. Bird Alone
  2. The Touch of Your Lips
  3. What is This Thing Called Love
  4. The Bird & Confirmation
  5. Look for Silver Lining
  6. Falling in Love With Love
  7. Baltimore Oriole
  8. Concentrate on You
  9. Blue and Green
  10. Autumn in New York
  11. Lucky to Be Me

Sheila Jordan’s Live at Mezzrow will be released July 15 via Cellar Music Group and SmallsLIVE Foundation.