Newly found Sheila Jordan live set adds crucial chapter to singer’s catalogue

A recently discovered 1960 recording of Sheila Jordan will be released this year, adding an important chapter to the singer’s musical history.

Comes Love: Lost Session 1960 was recorded on June 10, 1960, at New York’s Olmsted Sound Studios for the little-known Chatam Records.

Produced from a recently unearthed acetate disc, the album offers an early but instantly recognizable look at Jordan as she performs a set of standards.

Comes Love predates Jordan’s 1963 Blue Note debut Portrait of Sheila by more than two years, making it her earliest-known recorded session.

Yet it’s a somewhat mysterious chapter; Jordan has no recollection of the date or the names of her trio of accompanists. At the time, Jordan was working regularly at the Page Three Club in Greenwich Village, often with pianists John Knapp or Herbie Nichols, bassists Steve Swallow or Gene Perlman, and drummer Ziggy Willman. Some of these musicians may be heard on Comes Love, but no one knows for sure.

The original disc was found by record dealers Jeremy Sloan and Hadley Kenslow of Albuquerque’s SloLow Records, who bought it several years ago as part of a large collection of acetates.

Here’s the track listing:

  1. I’m the Girl
  2. It Don’t Mean a Thing If It Ain’t Got That Swing
  3. Ballad of the Sad Young Men
  4. Comes Love
  5. Don’t Explain
  6. Sleeping Bee
  7. When the World Was Young
  8. I’ll Take Romance
  9. These Foolish Things
  10. Glad to Be Unhappy
  11. They Can’t Take That Away From Me

Comes Love: Lost Sessions 1960 will be released Sept. 17 via Capri Records.

Recommended Links