Makaya McCraven gets ready to share long-awaited album In These Times

Chicago-based percussionist, composer and producer Makaya McCraven has announced his latest album, In These Times.

For the 11-track recording, McCraven enlisted a roster of distinguished collaborators including Jeff Parker, Junius Paul, Brandee Younger, Marquis Hill, Joel Ross and De’Sean Jones, alongside contributions from Lia Kohl, Macie Stewart, Zara Zaharieva, Marta Sofia Honer, Greg Ward, Irvin Pierce, Matt Gold, Greg Spero and Rob Clearfield.

Listen to the lead single Seventh String below.

In These Times follows McCraven’s prolific run of albums, including the acclaimed 2018 solo release Universal Beings, his 2020 homage to Gil Scott-Heron We’re New Again, and last year’s Deciphering the Message, his reimagining of iconic tunes from Blue Note Records.

For McCraven, the new album represents the music he has been trying to create for several years, working on the project in the background of his other releases. The recording process for In These Times took place at five different studios and four live performances, with McCraven undertaking the post-production at home.

The new offering finds McCraven mixing his signature organic beat-making production with large orchestral ensemble arrangements, showcasing his abilities as a composer. Often regarded as a “beat scientist,” McCraven has previously distinguished himself through cohesively blending elements of jazz and other Black-originated musical genres of the past, present and future.

Recommended Links

Here’s the track listing for In These Times:

  1. In These Times
  2. The Fours
  3. High Fives
  4. Dream Another
  5. Lullaby
  6. This Place That Place
  7. The Calling
  8. Seventh String
  9. So Ubuji
  10. The Knew Untitled
  11. The Title

Makaya McCraven’s In These Times will be released Sept. 23, 2022, via International Anthem/Nonesuch/XL Recordings.