John Beasley shares first Christmas album Holidaze

Grammy-winning pianist John Beasley interprets eight holiday classics on Holidaze, his first Christmas album.

Beasley is joined by drummer Christian Euman and bassist Edwin Livingston in a trio setting for a fun collection of seasonal favourites.

“I have been wanting to go into a recording studio with a trio and just press play and record — trusting in musicianship, creativity, and camaraderie,” Beasley says.

On Holidaze, Beasley and his trio look to evoke records made in the 1950s and ’60s, before the invention of multitrack, when iconic musicians would go into the studio and record an album in a single day.

“Musicians of that era did not stress over so-called blemishes, but really let the music speak for itself and reflect being in the moment,” Beasley says.

Recommended Links

Here’s the track listing:

  1. Greensleeves
  2. I’ll be Home for Christmas
  3. Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy
  4. Twelve Days of Christmas
  5. Away in a Manger
  6. Auld Lang Syne
  7. Deck the Halls
  8. Silent Night

John Beasley’s Holidaze is out now.