Jocelyn Gould builds on momentum with sophomore album Golden Hour

Juno-winning jazz guitarist Jocelyn Gould has announced her sophomore album, Golden Hour.

The new recording marks the Manitoba-born, Toronto-based musician’s followup to her breakout debut album as a leader, 2020’s Elegant Traveler, which won a Juno Award for jazz album of the year (solo).

Continuing the development of her personal sound and identity, Golden Hour proudly showcases Gould’s virtuosic playing and dynamic compositions — and, for the first time, her vocal abilities, which are featured on three tracks.

Watch the Jocelyn Gould Quartet playing Willow Weep for Me live in Winnipeg earlier this year:

Gould’s ensemble for Golden Hour includes world renowned bassist Rodney Whitaker, drummer Quincy Davis, and recent Juno-winning pianist Will Bonness. The quartet mirrors the classic lineups of albums that have inspired her. She rounds out the group with guest performances by saxophonist Jon Gordon, who’s featured on three tracks.

Golden Hour features six original compositions and four American songbook standards, cohesively blending the sounds of swing, blues and Gould’s naturally rich guitar sound. While the album places Gould’s performances and compositions at the forefront, Golden Hour demonstrates a deep awareness of traditional jazz guitar history, paying homage to innovators like Wes Montgomery on Willow Weep for Me and Joe Pass on Sweet Lorraine.

Over the course of her career, Gould has established herself as an accomplished musician, bandleader and educator. She has performed in the groups of internationally recognized musicians including Grammy-nominated pianist and vocalist Freddy Cole, trumpeter Etienne Charles, trombonist Michael Dease and guitarist Randy Napoleon. Gould currently teaches in the guitar department at Humber College’s music school.

Recommended Links

Here’s the track listing for Golden Hour:

  1. Golden Hour
  2. Horizons
  3. Serendipity
  4. Sweet Lorraine
  5. Gemini
  6. Lover Come Back to Me
  7. Cottage for Sale
  8. Willow Weep for Me
  9. Tides are Turning
  10. Bright Note

Jocelyn Gould’s Golden Hour will be independently released June 17, 2022.