Gregory Porter has announced his first-ever holiday album called Christmas Wish, featuring a selection of time-honoured classics as well as three original songs.

The record is a tribute to Porter’s favourite time of the year, and to beloved singers, songwriters and interpreters including Stevie Wonder, Ella Fitzgerald, Marvin Gaye, Dinah Washington and Nat King Cole.

Backed by his longtime band and produced by repeat collaborator Troy Miller, with orchestral contributions recorded at Abbey Road, the album features inspired interpretations of carols, jazz-age standards and soulful ’60s deep cuts, including “Silent Night,” “Little Drummer Boy,” Marvin Gaye’s “Purple Snowflakes,” Stevie Wonder’s “Someday at Christmas” and Frank Loesser’s “What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve?,” which features a guest appearance by recent Grammy winner Samara Joy.

It also includes Porter’s new additions to the holiday season: “Christmas Wish,” “Heart for Christmas,” and “Everything’s Not Lost.”

Listen to “Everything’s Not Lost” here: