Diana Krall announces new album This Dream of You

The revered Canadian jazz artist Diana Krall has a new album ready to be released Sept. 25 via Verve Records.

Krall self-produced This Dream of You this May, working with sessions she recorded in 2016 and 2017 with the late Tommy LiPuma, her friend and longtime creative partner.

Today, Krall and Verve have shared How Deep is the Ocean, a smouldering take on the classic Irving Berlin song.

Some of the tracks, such as Almost Like Being in Love and That’s All, were recorded with a quartet of John Clayton, Jeff Hamilton and Anthony Wilson. Others like Autumn in New York and There’s No You feature a trio with Christian McBride and Russell Malone. There are also some duo songs, including I Wished on the Moon with bassist John Clayton and More Than You Know and Don’t Smoke in Bed with pianist Alan Broadbent.

Other musicians featured on the album include guitarist Marc Ribot, fiddler Stuart Duncan, bassist Tony Garnier, drummer Karriem Riggins and Randall Krall on accordion.

Krall describes This Dream of You as a “long-playing record” that’s “very far from a record of outtakes or unfinished music.” Instead, she says it feels like the arc of a film. “If But Beautiful is the overture, then Singing in the Rain is the end title.”

Here’s the full track listing for This Dream of You:

  1. But Beautiful
  2. That’s All
  3. Autumn in New York
  4. Almost Like Being in Love
  5. More Than You Know
  6. Just You, Just Me
  7. There’s No You
  8. Don’t Smoke in Bed
  9. This Dream of You
  10. I Wished on the Moon
  11. How Deep is the Ocean
  12. Singing in the Rain

Recommended Links