Toronto-based musician and composer Dhaivat Jani has set a release date for his debut album Sum // Parts.

The drummer, tabla player and composer is a recent graduate of Humber College’s jazz program and a former participant in JAZZ.FM91’s Jazzology program, supported by RBC Emerging Artists.

Jani had previously teased the upcoming album last September.

Now, he and his band — called Dhaivat Jani PLUS — are ready to serve up original contemporary jazz music mixed with Indian classical music, rock and fluid improvisation. Jani is joined by saxophonist Lucas Dubovik, vocalist Eliana Parker, vibraphonists Dean Veneruz and Michael Davidson, guitarist Matt Greenwood, pianist Joshua Stanberry, and bassist Matt McCormack.

Sum // Parts represents an account of Jani’s life so far, from his time growing up in Ahmedabad, India, to his migration to Canada, and everything in between.

The band takes inspiration from a range of artists including Chris Potter, Brad Mehldau, Led Zeppelin, Trilok Gurtu, Radiohead, Brian Blade and Tigran Hamasyan. The eight original compositions on Sum // Parts feature North Indian and African rhythms, rock ‘n’ roll stylings, jazz improvisation and more.

Here’s the track listing:

  1. Day 21
  2. Pulwama
  3. Even If
  4. change is the only constant
  5. It Might Rain
  6. Kaleidoscope
  7. Peshkaar
  8. Unchain

Dhaivat Jani PLUS’s Sum // Parts is out June 9, 2023.