A new compilation of previously unreleased recordings from legendary jazz pianist Bill Evans is due to be released this November.

Tales: Live in Copenhagen (1964) features never-before-heard performances from Evans’s inaugural European tour in 1964, accompanied by bassist Chuck Israels and drummer Larry Bunker.

The recordings were captured in Danish radio’s Radiohuset studio and TV-BYEN (TV City) on Aug. 10 and 25, 1964, respectively.

The collection was produced by Zev Feldman, mastered by Bernie Grundman, and fully authorized by the Bill Evans estate. The physical release will include liner notes by Evans scholar Marc Meyers and new interviews with Israels and Bunker’s widow Brandyn Bunker.

“These 11 tracks are glorious, a gift for all of us to relish these many decades after Bill’s physical departure from this earth,” Feldman said in a statement. “It’s thrilling for me to see these recordings come out, extending a welcoming hand to jazz fans who are just exploring Bill Evans’s music for the first time. Tales is a wonderful document that captures the spirit, essence, and beauty of what Bill Evans was all about.”

The album is a sequel to Elemental Music’s previous collection Treasures, a set of 1965-69 Evans recordings made in Denmark in trio, solo, and orchestral settings that the label produced for Record Store Day earlier this year. Tales will be released as part of Record Store Day’s Black Friday.

Here’s the track listing:

  1. Waltz for Debby
  2. My Foolish Heart
  3. How My Heart Sings
  4. Sweet and Lovely
  5. I Didn’t Know What Time It Was
  6. Five (Theme)
  7. My Foolish Heart #2
  8. How My Heart Sings #2
  9. Sweet and Lovely #2
  10. Five (Theme) #2
  11. ‘Round Midnight

Bill Evans’s Tales: Live in Copenhagen (1964) is out Nov. 24, 2023, on Elemental Music.