Trombone Shorty ‘cuts loose,’ bottles up live energy on new album Lifted

Trombone Shorty channelled the powerful grooves of his legendary live shows for Lifted, his first album in five years.

“I think Lifted is the closest we’ve ever gotten to bottling up the live show and putting it on a record,” says the Grammy-nominated trombonist and composer. “This time around I told everybody to really cut loose, to perform like they were onstage at a festival.”

With a mix of funk, soul and psychedelic rock, the album promises bold songwriting and high-calibre performances from Shorty and his bandmates. The record features special guests Gary Clark, Jr., Lauren Daigle and the New Breed Brass Band.

The 10 tracks were recorded at Shorty’s own Buckjump Studio with producer Chris Seefried.

Watch the music video for the title track, directed by Justin Castillo:

You can also hear the first single Come Back below.

The album title and cover photo reference the relationship Trombone Shorty had with his mother, Lois Nelson Andrews. “She passed recently, but she continued to inspire me right up until she transitioned, and that’s why I put a picture of her holding me up at a second line on the cover of this album,” he explains. “She lifted me up my whole life.”

Here’s the track listing:

  1. Come Back
  2. Lie to Me
  3. I’m Standing Here (feat. Gary Clark, Jr)
  4. What It Takes (feat. Lauren Daigle)
  5. Everybody in the World (feat. New Breed Brass Band)
  6. Lifted
  7. Forgiveness
  8. Miss Beautiful
  9. Might Not Make It Home
  10. Good Company

Trombone Shorty’s Lifted is out April 29 via Blue Note.