Terence Blanchard’s new album Absence honours legendary composer and saxophonist Wayne Shorter.

On the new album, the acclaimed trumpeter performs with The E-Collective, featuring pianist Fabian Almazan, guitarist Charles Altura, bassist David Ginyard and drummer Oscar Seaton; and the Turtle Island Quartet with violinist and artistic director David Balakirshnan, violinist Gabe Terracciano, violist Benjamin von Gutzeit and cellist Malcom Parson.

Absence includes pieces written by Shorter as well as original compositions by Blanchard and members of his band.

The title track, composed by Ginyard, is available now.