Takuya Kuroda returns with new album Midnight Crisp

Trumpeter and composer Takuya Kuroda has announced his latest mini-album Midnight Crisp.

The seventh studio album from the Japanese-born, New York-based musician follows his critically acclaimed 2020 recording Fly Moon Die Soon, which was named one of JAZZ.FM91’s top albums of the year.

The six new tracks on Midnight Crisp find Kuroda displaying his unique hybrid of soulful jazz, funk, post-bop, fusion and hip hop.

Watch the video for the title track:

Kuroda began playing in his school’s big band in Japan, following in the footsteps of his brother, a trombonist. In 2003, he relocated to New York to study jazz and contemporary music at The New School. There, he met vocalist José James and began collaborating on multiple projects. He went on to establish himself further in New York’s jazz scene, performing with the likes of Akoya Afrobeat and DJ Premier’s BADDER band.

Kuroda has had a prolific recording career as a bandleader, having released six  (and soon to be seven) albums since his independently produced debut album Edge in 2011. Those include 2014’s Rising Son on Blue Note Records and 2016’s Zigzagger on Concord.

Recommended Links

Here’s the track listing for Midnight Crisp:

  1. Midnight Crisp
  2. Time Coil
  3. It’s Okay
  4. Dead End Dance
  5. Old Picture
  6. Choy Soda

Takuya Kuroda’s Midnight Crisp arrives Oct. 21, 2022, via First Word.