Saxophonist Chris Potter, vocalist Lizz Wright, bassist Aneesa Strings and drummer Kendrick A.D. Scott are the newest members of the award-winning SFJazz Collective.

This spring, the new lineup is exploring the music of iconic Canadian singer-songwriter Joni Mitchell, who received the SFJAZZ Lifetime Achievement Award in 2015.

Founded in 2004, the collective also includes tenor saxophonist David Sánchez, trumpeter Etienne Charles, vibraphonist Warren Wolf and pianist Edward Simon.

The group has been meeting virtually to record innovative versions of Mitchell’s classic songs as well as new compositions inspired by her legacy. The material will be the basis for the band’s upcoming album to be released in the fall.

The group is also planning U.S. and international tours for 2022.

In previous years, the SFJazz Collective has honoured the music of John Coltrane, Ornette Coleman, Herbie Hancock, Thelonious Monk, Wayne Shorter, McCoy Tyner, Stevie Wonder, Chick Corea and many others. Most recently, they celebrated the 50th anniversaries of Miles Davis’s In a Silent Way and Sly & The Family Stone’s Stand!

Past members of the SFJAZZ Collective include Bobby Hutcherson, Joshua Redman, Miguel Zenón, Avishai Cohen, Stefon Harris, Dave Douglas, Joe Lovano, Renee Rosnes and Brian Blade.