Nubya Garcia reimagines her splashy debut with remix album Source⧺ We Move

Saxophonist, composer and bandleader Nubya Garcia was one of last year’s breakout jazz stars thanks to her debut album Source. Now, she’s building on that buzz by following it up with a remix album that reimagines the songs that made her the talk of 2020.

Earlier this year, Garcia released an exclusive Record Store Day pressing of four remixes from Source, and very soon fans can listen to even more remixes as a fully realized release.

The new collection is called Source  We Move and features remixes by Georgia Anne Muldrow, KeiyaA, Moses Boyd and more.

Ahead of the album’s release, Garcia shared the lead single La Cumbia Me Está Llamando, remixed by producer Kaidi Tatham and featuring the vocal and percussion group La Perla.

Tatham is one of the innovators of a style known as “broken beat,” a sound that emerged from the U.K. that features electronic drums and syncopated rhythms with roots in ‘70s jazz fusion, drawing from artists such as Lonnie Liston Smith and Herbie Hancock.

“Kaidi is an absolutely incredibly amazing musician and producer,” Garcia shared in a statement. “It’s an honour to have him remix this track, and I’m excited for everyone to step to it.”

Source  We Move isn’t the first time Garcia has explored electronic music; she experimented with it on her When We Are EP in 2018.

Garcia has been gaining celebrity ever since she hit the U.K. jazz scene in 2017. Her debut album Source ended up appearing on several lists of the best albums of 2020 — including JAZZ.FM91’s top albums of the year.

Recommended Links

Here’s the track listing forSource ⧺ We Move:

  1. La Cumbia Me Está Llamando (Kaidi Tatham Remix) [feat. La Perla]
  2. Together Is a Beautiful Place to Be (Nala Sinephro Remix)
  3. The Message Continues (DJ Harrison Remix)
  4. Inner Game (Blvck Spvde Remix)
  5. Boundless Beings (Georgia Anne Muldrow Remix)
  6. Stand With Each Other (KeiyaA Remix)
  7. La Cumbia Me Está Llamando (Suricata Remix) [feat. La Perla]
  8. Source (Dengue Dengue Dengue Remix)
  9. Pace (Moses Boyd Remix)

Source ⧺ We Move arrives Oct. 22 via Concord.