Two collections of Nina Simone music offer a mix of new and classic material

Two collections of music by cultural icon Nina Simone will be released (or reissued) by the end of this year.

The first collection titled Feeling Good: Her Greatest Hits and Remixes is slated for release Oct. 29 via Verve Records.

The 26-track album compiles Nina Simone’s greatest hits and classics throughout her storied career, including Mississippi Goddam, Strange Fruit, I Loves You Porgy, I Put a Spell on You and, of course, Feeling Good. It also features seven remixes from some of the world’s most prolific DJs, helping to bridge her legacy to a new generation of listeners.

The first single was a Feeling Good remixed by English producer Joel Corry:

Following that, the 1959 compilation Nina Simone and Her Friends will be reissued on vinyl on Dec. 3 via BMG.

This new reissue will feature remastered audio, unreleased tracks from her Little Girl Blue sessions, original compositions by Carmen McRae and Chris Connor, and a new essay from professor and author Daphne A. Brooks.

You can get a sneak peek of the compilation with an instrumental of African Mailman, showcasing Simone’s ability on the piano. It was recorded when she was in her twenties, aspiring to be a classical concert pianist.

Recommended Links

Here’s the track listing for Feeling Good: Her Greatest Hits and Remixes:

CD 1:

  • Feeling Good
  • My Baby Just Cares for Me
  • I Put a Spell on You
  • Sinnerman
  • Black is the Color of My True Love’s Hair
  • See-Line Woman
  • Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood
  • Ain’t Got No, I Got Life
  • Lilac Wine
  • Ne Me Quitte Pas
  • Love Me or Leave Me
  • Don’t Explain
  • Mississippi Goddam

CD 2:

  • Strange Fruit
  • Wild is the Wind
  • Work Song
  • I Loves You Porgy
  • Mood Indigo
  • Take Care of Business
  • Feeling Good” (Joel Correy Remix)
  • See-Line Woman (Riton Remix)
  • Sinnerman (Sofi Tukker Remix)
  • My Baby Just Cares for Me (HONNE Remix)
  • Take Care of Business (Rudimental Remix)
  • I Put a Spell on You (Floorplan Remix)
  • Be My Husband (Hot Chip Remix)

Here’s the track listing for Nina Simone and Her Friends:

Side A

  1. Nina Simone – He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands
  2. Chris Connor – Cottage for Sale
  3. Carmen McRae – Old Devil Moon
  4. Nina Simone – I Loves You, Porgy
  5. Chris Connor – Try a Little Tenderness
  6. Carmen McRae – You Made Me Care

Side B

  1. Nina Simone – For All We Know
  2. Chris Connor – What Is There to Say?
  3. Carmen McRae – Too Much in Love to Care
  4. Nina Simone – African Mailman
  5. Chris Connor – Good Bye
  6. Carmen McRae – Last Time for Love