The National Endowment for the Arts and SFJAZZ will virtually co-present the annual NEA Jazz Masters tribute concert on April 22.

This year’s class of NEA Jazz Masters includes Terri Lyne Carrington, Henry Threadgill, Albert “Tootie” Heath and Phil Schaap.

Awarded annually since 1982, these fellowships are the United States’ highest honour bestowed upon jazz musicians, broadcasters and advocates. Recipients are regarded as “living legends who have made exceptional contributions to the advancement of jazz.”

Vocalist Dee Dee Bridgewater and actor Delroy Lindo will host the virtual program.

Performers will include Obed Calvaire, Avishai Cohen, Roman Filiu, Vince Giordano, Christopher Hoffman, Joe Lovano, Wynton and Jason Marsalis, Pedrito Martinez, Dan Nimmer, Linda May Han Oh, Danilo Pérez, Dianne Reeves, David Virelles, Lizz Wright and the SFJAZZ High School All Stars.

Saxophonist Miguel Zenón is serving as musical director in place of Carrington, who normally fills that role.

The concert will be streamed online on Thursday, April 22, at 8 p.m. ET on and