Toronto jazz group Monkey House are getting ready to release their new album Remember the Audio.

It’s the followup to their Juno-winning recording Friday, which topped the iTunes jazz chart and hit No. 11 on the Billboard contemporary jazz albums chart when it was released in 2019.

The new album features Monkey House’s regular lineup of keyboardist, vocalist and songwriter Don Breithaupt, drummer Mark Kelso, bassist Pat Kilbride, and guitarist Justin Abedin, along with guests including trumpeters Randy Brecker, Guido Basso and Michael Leonhart, guitarist Drew Zingg, and singers Lucy Woodward and David Blamires.

Breithaupt joined us to talk about Monkey House’s new album, the band’s 30th anniversary and what it took to get to this point.