Michael Kaeshammer unveils live-off-the-floor album The Warehouse Sessions

Acclaimed Canadian pianist and vocalist Michael Kaeshammer has announced a new album of live-off-the-floor performances called The Warehouse Sessions.

The Juno-nominated musician promises a “joyful” recording that blends funky soul, gospel revival and rollicking boogie-woogie across nine tracks.

The Warehouse Sessions showcases Kaeshammer’s experienced, fine-tuned trio with bassist David Piltch and drummer Johnny Vidacovich. They cut the record at Bryan Adams’ famed Warehouse Studio in Vancouver.

“The concept was simple,” Kaeshammer says. “Let’s call a tune and then let’s record it. These are all first takes, loose and energetic.”

Listen to the lead single You Got It in Your Soulness:

Written by Les McCann, the song first appeared on McCann’s and trumpet player Eddie Harris’s Grammy-nominated live album Swiss Movement from 1969. The album also features the trio’s off-the-cuff takes on other classics such as Ain’t She Sweet, Down by the Riverside and Bourbon Street Parade.

“When I play, I don’t worry about if it’s jazz or pop or classical or whatever. I just play what I hear and let the music decide what it wants to be,” Kaeshammer adds. “Sure, there are different styles, different eras, different approaches, but when you really look at it, it’s all just music based on 12 notes.”

The Warehouse Sessions is the 14th album for Kaeshammer, who made his recording debut in 1996. He has been nominated for seven Juno Awards.

Recommended Links

Here’s the track listing for The Warehouse Sessions:

  1. You Got It in Your Soulness
  2. How Long Blues
  3. Down By the Riverside
  4. Caravan
  5. Bourbon Street Parade
  6. Quizas, Quizas, Quizas
  7. Ain’t She Sweet
  8. Ramblin’
  9. The Preacher

Michael Kaeshammer’s The Warehouse Sessions arrives Oct. 7, 2022, via Linus Entertainment.