Danae Olano, Sanah Kodoura and Virgina Macdonald are this year’s finalists for the 2024 Breakthrough Jazz Award presented by the Toronto Arts Foundation.

Previously named the Emerging Jazz Artist Award, the Breakthrough Jazz Award is a $10,000 cash prize that honours an outstanding Toronto-based jazz artist with two to seven years experience in the field and musicians who play jazz or jazz-influenced music.

The assessment panel for the Breakthrough Jazz Artist Award includes Ernesto Cervini, Garvia Bailey, TD Toronto Jazz Festival Artistic Director Joshua Grossman, Shakura S’Aida and Dani Elwell.

The winner will be announced on June 26 during TD Toronto Jazz Festival.