Toronto-based drummer Larnell Lewis is coming to late night.

The Grammy-winning musician will join Late Night with Seth Meyers the week of March 14-17 as he sits in with the 8G Band.

The appearance was originally planned for January, but Lewis was forced to postpone due to illness.

Led by Fred Armisen, the 8G Band — named after the show’s production studio in New York — comprises guitarists Seth Jabour and Marnie Stern, bassist Syd Butler and keyboardist Eli Janney. It’s been the show’s house band since its premiere in 2014.

Without a regular drummer, the 8G Band has enlisted a long list of guest drummers throughout the years. Those have previously included Steve Ferrone, Nikki Glaspie, Vinnie Colaiuta, Chad Smith, Abe Laboriel Jr., Hannah Welton, Matt Cameron, Patrick Carney, Kenny Aronoff, Matt Sorum, Jimmy Chamberlin, Brad Wilk, Stanton Moore and Joe Russo. 

Late Night producer Eric Leiderman extends the invitation for newcomers to join Armisen and his group each week.

“I’m extremely excited and grateful for the opportunity to sit in for the week on Late Night with Seth Meyers,” Lewis said in an announcement on social media. “I’ve seen tons of my favourite drummers sit in on #LNSM and can’t wait to make my debut appearance on the show.”

Lewis is a highly respected and in-demand drummer, composer, producer and educator. Since 2012, he has been playing with the three-time Grammy-winning band Snarky Puppy. He has played on Juno-winning albums by Emilie-Claire Barlow and Mike Downes, and he has toured the world with musicians including Quincy Jones, Laila Biali, Gregory Porter, Benny Golson, Lalah Hathaway, Jacob Collier, John Scofield, Pat Metheny, Lisa Fisher, Kurt Elling, Gary Burton and more.

Lewis also leads successful ensembles of his own. He released his Juno-nominated debut album In the Moment in 2018. He followed it up with 2020’s Relive the Momenta rework of compositions from his debut album with all-new drum performances.

Meyers hosts the fourth incarnation of the Late Night franchise. The show was previous hosted by David Letterman (1982–1993), Conan O’Brien (1993–2009) and Jimmy Fallon (2009–2014). Late Night is produced by former Saturday Night Live producer Mike Shoemaker and executive-produced by Lorne Michaels.

Late Night with Seth Meyers airs weeknights at 12:35 a.m. ET on NBC.