Kurt Elling and Charlie Hunter return with SuperBlue: The Iridescent Spree, the highly anticipated follow-up to their Grammy-nominated album together.

With its groovy funk sound, the original SuperBlue was released in 2021 and earned a Grammy nomination for best jazz vocal album. Earlier this year, the collective also released the Guilty Pleasures EP, a six-song set of covers of songs by Al Jarreau, Sam & Dave, AC/DC and more.

On their second full-length album, Elling and Hunter are again joined by drummer Corey Fonville and bassist-keyboardist DJ Harrison (of the jazz-funk fusion quintet Butcher Brown) for a collection of new songs and inventive covers. The new album is said to be equally informed by R&B, neo-soul, classic pop, psychedelic poetry, funk and jazz in its many forms.

Listen to the lead single “Not Here / Not Now”: