The Montreal-based label Justin Time Records is celebrating its 40th anniversary with a compilation of 40 songs from many of its quintessential releases.

Titled 40 Years of Justin Time Records, the collection features tunes by Oliver Jones, Diana Krall, Ranee Lee, Carol Welsman, Paul Bley, Brandi Disterheft, David Clayton-Thomas, Dave Young, Oscar Peterson, Christine Jensen, Hilario Durán, Alex Pangman, and many more.

Founded in 1983 by Jim West, Justin Time began by releasing the first recording from the esteemed pianist Oliver Jones, who just this year was inducted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame. Today, the label has a catalogue of more than 600 recordings by some of the finest musicians in the world.

“It’s hard to believe over 40 years have passed,” said West. “Over the label’s history we are looking at more than 600 album releases with some of the best musicians in the business. It is so important for me to note, and very proudly so, that our first three signings, Oliver Jones, Ranee Lee and Trevor W. Payne and the Montreal Jubilation Gospel Choir are still with us today and great friends with whom we talk daily. Other musical talents, such as the late great Oscar Peterson, Kenny Wheeler, Paul Bley, Kenny Werner, Diana Krall, World Saxophone Quartet, Fontella Bass, David Murray, Billy Bang, Susie Arioli, Bryan Lee, Matt Herskowitz, Carol Welsman, Dave Van Ronk, Rob McConnell, David Clayton-Thomas, Frank Marino, and Hank Jones, amongst many others, have blessed the label with their talents. Added to this list are a new generation of artists such Emma Frank, Katherine Penfold, Halie Loren, and Laura Anglade, to name a few. How lucky we have been.”

In 2016, the Montreal International Jazz Festival presented West with the Bruce Lundvall Award, named after the late Blue Note Records executive and presented to a person from the media or music industry who has made a significant contribution to the development of jazz. In 2018, he received the Builder Award from the Canadian Independent Music Association’s CIMA Awards. In 2022, he was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada for his contributions to the Canadian recording industry, and for supporting and championing the country’s talent.

Here’s the track listing:

  1. Oliver Jones – Blues For Helene
  2. Ranee Lee – I’ve Got The World On A String
  3. Montreal Jubilation Gospel Choir – Goin’ Up Yonder
  4. Diana Krall – Straighten Up and Fly Right
  5. Billy Bang – Reflections
  6. Quartango – Androgyne
  7. Brian Hughes – Promise You
  8. Carol Welsman – What A Fool Believes
  9. Lorraine Klaasen – Pata Pata
  10. Halie Loren – Waiting In Vain
  11. Laura Anglade & Sam Kirmayer – J’aime Paris au mois de mai
  12. Jean-Michel Pilc – Your Lullaby
  13. Paul Bley – Lucky
  14. Susie Arioli – Pennies from Heaven
  15. Hank Jones – Pauletta
  16. David Murray – Giant Steps
  17. World Saxophone Quartet – Hey Joe
  18. Brandi Disterheft – Blues For Nelson Mandela
  19. Taurey Butler – Swappin’ Lies
  20. Denny Christianson – Looking for the Back Door
  21. Bryan Lee – Louisiana Woman
  22. Frank Marino and Mahogany Rush – Red House
  23. Emma Frank – Steady
  24. Kitt – (I Would Be) Grateful
  25. Jeri Brown – The Twelfth of Never
  26. David Clayton-Thomas – (You’ve Made Me So) Very Happy
  27. D.D. Jackson – Peace Song
  28. Dave Young – OP&D
  29. Little Animal! – Twindle
  30. Coral Egan – State of Grace
  31. Hugh Ragin – An Afternoon in Harlem
  32. Hilario Durán – Autumn Nocturne
  33. Oscar Peterson – Surrey With the Fringe on Top
  34. John Stetch – Autumn In New York
  35. Christine Jensen – Day Moon
  36. Michael Marcus – The Legend of Hale-Bopp
  37. Sonny Greenwich – Bird of Paradise
  38. Nelson Symonds – Getting Personal
  39. Alex Pangman – When I Get Low I Get High
  40. Matt Herskowitz – Tribute to John Coates