Allison Au, Hilario Durán, Christine Jensen, Jocelyn Gould, Laila Biali and Caity Gyorgy are among the Canadian jazz musicians nominated for Juno Awards this year.

The list of nominees for the 53rd annual Juno Awards also includes Dominique Fils-Aimé, Denielle Bassels, Alex Bird and Ewen Farncombe, the Mike Murley and Mark Eisenman Quartet, the Canadian Jazz Collective, and the Nick Maclean Quartet featuring Brownman Ali.

The Blackburn Brothers, Blue Moon Marquee, Brandon Isaak, Matt Andersen, and Michael Jerome Browne are up for blues album of the year.

OKAN’s Okantomi is nominated for global music album of the year.

Charlotte Cardin leads all nominees this year with six Juno Award nominations, while Daniel Caesar and TALK follow with five nods each.

The nominees for artist of the year are Charlotte Cardin, Daniel Caesar, Lauren Spencer, Shania Twain, and Tate McRae.

The album of the year nominees are Alexandra Stréliski’s Néo-Romance, Charlotte Cardin’s 99 Nights, Daniel Caesar’s NEVER ENOUGH, Lauren Spencer Smith’s Mirror, and TALK’s Lord of the Flies & Birds & Bees.

The 53rd annual Juno Awards will take place at Scotiabank Centre in Halifax on Sunday, March 24, hosted by Nelly Furtado. Performers will include The Beaches, Charlotte Cardin, and host Nelly Furtado herself.

This year, hip-hop pioneer Maestro Fresh Wes will be inducted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame with a special presentation and performance. Tegan and Sara will also be honoured with the 2024 Humanitarian Award presented by award-winning actor Elliot Page.

Here are all the 2024 nominees in the Junos’ jazz and blues categories.

Vocal Jazz Album of the Year
  • Alex Bird & Ewen Farncombe – Songwriter
  • Caity Gyorgy & Mark Limacher – You’re Alike, You Two
  • Denielle Bassels – Little Bit a’ Love
  • Dominique Fils-Aimé – Our Roots Run Deep
  • Laila Biali – Your Requests
Jazz Album of the Year: Solo
  • Christine Jensen – Day Moon
  • Gentiane MG – Walls Made of Glass
  • Jocelyn Gould – Sonic Bouquet
  • Noam Lemish – Twelve
  • Russ Macklem – The South Detroit Connection
Jazz Album of the Year: Group
  • Allison Au with the Migrations Ensemble – Migrations
  • Canadian Jazz Collective – Septology: The Black Forest Session
  • Hilario Durán and his Latin Jazz Big Band – Cry Me a River
  • Mike Murley & Mark Eisenman Quartet – Recent History
  • Nick Maclean Quartet feat. Brownman Ali – Convergence
Blues Album of the Year
  • Blackburn Brothers – SoulFunkn’BLUES
  • Blue Moon Marquee – Scream, Holler & Howl
  • Brandon Isaak – One Step Closer
  • Matt Andersen – The Big Bottle of Joy
  • Michael Jerome Browne – Gettin’ Together