Julian Lage readies Blue Note debut Squint

Julian Lage will release his 11th album Squint on June 11, marking his first release with Blue Note Records.

The prodigious, Grammy-nominated guitarist is joined by bassist Jorge Roeder and drummer Dave King for this dynamic 11-song trio recording.

Along with his 10 previous albums as a leader, Lage has a long resumé as a sideman for Gary Burton, Taylor Eigsti, John Zorn, Nels Cline, Chris Eldridge, Eric Harland, Fred Hersch and more. While Squint is Lage’s first album with Blue Note, it follows his previous appearances on two of the label’s notable releases: the Nels Cline 4’s Currents, Constellations and Charles Lloyd’s 8: Kindred Spirits.

Ahead of Squint’s release, Lage has shared a number of singles from the new record. The latest is Familiar Flower, dedicated to Charles Lloyd.

“Charles somehow writes and arranges his songs so that the second the beat starts, you know it’s his tune,” Lage said in a statement. “His DNA is just embedded into the rhythm section. I still don’t know how he does it, but I tried to write that tune so that the tone is set before I even come in.”

Produced by Margaret Glaspy and Armand Hirsch, Squint features nine of Lage’s original compositions along with a tune by Johnny Mandel and Johnny Mercer and another by Billy Hill.

Here’s the track listing:

  1. Etude
  2. Boo’s Blues
  3. Squint
  4. Saint Rose
  5. Emily
  6. Familiar Flower
  7. Day and Age 
  8. Quiet Like a Fuse
  9. Short Form
  10. Twilight Surfer
  11. Call of the Canyon

Lage has also announced a North American fall tour. The first leg is set to begin Sept. 25 in Los Angeles and end Oct. 9 in Toronto; the dates pick up again on Dec. 4 in New York and continue through Dec. 12 in Nashville.