Joey DeFrancesco has released a lot of music over the last three decades. This year, he’ll release his 39th studio album as a leader — which is simply titled More Music.

The prolific multi-instrumentalist and composer — who celebrated his 50th birthday this year — returns to Mack Avenue for his third album with the record label.

More Music is a hard-bop and soul-jazz recording on which DeFrancesco brings out his full arsenal by playing organ, piano, keyboards, trumpet and, for the first time on record, the tenor saxophone, as well as singing on at least one of the tracks. He also composed and arranged 10 original tunes for the album.

DeFrancesco is joined by a new trio with fellow Philadelphia organist and guitarist Lucas Brown and drummer Michael Ode.