Norwegian guitarist Jacob Young tries out a new format and a wide variety of styles on his new album Eventually.

In his first recording with a guitar trio, Young is joined by bassist Mats Eilertsen and drummer Audun Kleive as he expands his compositional palette.

Eventually is Young’s first release since 2014’s Forever Young, which features saxophonist Trygve Seim and the Marcin Wasilewski Trio.

“It took quite a while to make a new album after Forever Young, because I had to get older,” Young says. “I had to dare to just play with bass and drums — no piano or horns. When Mats and Audun agreed to do this recording with me in the classic guitar, bass and drums trio format, it was important for us not to go ahead and make ‘just another guitar-trio record,’ but to make it sound fresh, like something we’ve never done before.”

Young has previously released three albums on ECM Records: 2004’s Evening Falls, 2007’s Sideways and 2014’s Forever Young. He was also part of Manu Katché’s group on Third Round in 2010 and the drummer’s compilation album Touchstone for Manu in 2014.

Here’s the track listing:

  1. Eventually
  2. I Told You in October
  3. Moon Over Meno
  4. One for Louis
  5. Schönstedtstraße
  6. Northbound
  7. The Dog Ate My Homework
  8. The Meaning of Joy
  9. Inside

Jacob Young’s Eventually is out May 12, 2023, via ECM Records.