Vocalist Gretchen Parlato and guitarist Lionel Loueke are set to release a new collaborative album called Lean In.

The album took shape during the grips of the pandemic, with the two musicians traded song ideas over the Internet between their homes in Luxembourg and Los Angeles.

Within four months of that process, Parlato and Loueke were in a Los Angeles studio, rounding out the band with bassist Burniss Travis and drummer Mark Guiliana.

Performed in English, Portuguese and Fon (the indigenous language of Benin), the songs on Lean In blend sounds inspired by pop and R&B classics as well as Afrobeat and Brazilian tunes. The album features original songs and improvisational interludes along with reinterpretations of tunes by Foo Fighters and others.

Listen to the single “I Miss You,” a reworking of the 1984 hit by the funk band Klymaxx: