Blue Note unveils previously unreleased Elvin Jones album

Blue Note Records is set to release a previously unissued recording of Elvin Jones and his quartet performing live in 1967.

Revival: Live at Pookie’s Pub captures the legendary drummer’s emergence as a bandleader at a little-known club in New York where he had a weekly residency after leaving John Coltrane’s band in 1966.

The band features tenor saxophonist Joe Farrell, pianist Billy Greene and bassist Wilbur Little. Larry Young plays the keys on one of the tracks.

Revival was recorded between July 28-30, 1967, just two weeks after Coltrane’s death.

The album finds the band stretching out on expansive versions of standards and the members’ own originals.

Listen to Keiko’s Birthday March now:

The deluxe CD and LP sets include an extensive booklet with photos by Francis Wolff, Ozier Muhammad, Christian Rose and others; essays by Grammy-winning author and co-producer Ashley Kahn, co-producer Zev Feldman, executive producer Don Was, and the original recording engineer Bob Falesch; interviews and statements by drummers Alvin Queen and Michael Shrieve, pianist Richie Beirach, saxophonists Pat LaBarbera and Dave Liebman, and bassist Gene Perla.

“This hidden treasure is the missing link charting the trajectory from Elvin Jones’ tenure in the John Coltrane Quartet to the subsequent formation of his legendary trio with Joe Farrell and Jimmy Garrison,” Blue Note president Don Was said in a statement.

“There’s a distinct sense of time and space in other sonic details, like Pookie’s room-sound and the applause from an enthusiastic, if limited, number of patrons,” said Kahn. “Elvin’s audible vocalizations‚ grunting the structure of the tune, as well as the laughter between the musicians and candid stage chatter.”

Recommended Links

Here’s the track listing:

  1. Keiko’s Birthday March
  2. Gingerbread Boy (feat. Larry Young)
  3. Avenue B
  4. My Funny Valentine
  5. M.E.
  6. On the Trail
  7. Softly, as in a Morning Sunrise
  8. Raunchy Rita
  9. Oleo

Revival: Live at Pookie’s Pub arrives Nov. 18, 2022, via Blue Note.