BADBADNOTGOOD return to their roots on Talk Memory

Toronto trio BADBADNOTGOOD are going back to their roots with their latest album Talk Memory.

The album includes contributions from Arthur Verocai, Laraaji, Terrace Martin, Brandee Younger and Karriem Riggins.

Comprising drummer Alexander Sowinski, bassist Chester Hansen and guitarist and woodwind player Leland Whitty, the group formed in Humber College’s jazz program in 2010. Rather than working strictly with traditional jazz standards, the group also drew from hip hop and other contemporary genres to create their unique, critically acclaimed sound.

Talk Memory pays homage to the musicians, composers and influences that first informed their work. The goal was to capture the focus, energy and improvisation that has been an integral part of their live shows throughout years of touring.

“It took a year or two of just living life to get to the place where the creative process was exciting again and once we actually went in to the studio it was the most concise recording and writing process we’ve ever had,” the band said in a statement. “We hope that the improvised studio performances bring the listener closer to our live experience.”

The band has already shared two pre-release singles. The latest is Beside April, featuring drummer Karriem Riggins and Arthur Verocai. The accompanying music video was directed by Camille Summers-Valli.

Previously, the band shared Signal From the Noise, with a music video directed by Duncan Loudon and starring Steve Stamp.

Talk Memory is BADBADNOTGOOD’s fifth studio album. It follows 2016’s IV, which reached No. 1 on Billboard’s jazz charts and was shortlisted for the Polaris Music Prize. The band previously made the Polaris shortlist for Sour Soul, their 2015 collaboration with Ghostface Killah. That album also earned them a Juno nomination for rap recording of the year.

BADBADNOTGOOD have planned a tour throughout 2021 and 2022, beginning with nine stops in Canada. If nothing changes, they’ll be playing in Calgary, Edmonton, Winnipeg, Victoria, Vancouver, Montreal, Ottawa, Quebec City and Toronto this December.

Here’s the track listing for Talk Memory:

  1. Signal From the Noise
  2. Unfolding (Momentum 73) [feat. Laraaji]
  3. City of Mirrors [feat. Arthur Verocai]
  4. Beside April [feat. Karriem Riggins and Arthur Verocai]
  5. Love Proceeding [feat. Arthur Verocai]
  6. Open Channels
  7. Timid, Intimidating
  8. Beside April Reprise [feat. Arthur Verocai]
  9. Talk Meaning [feat. Arthur Verocai, Terrace Martin and Brandee Younger]

Talk Memory arrives Oct. 8 via XL Recordings.

Recommended Links