The 2018 NEA Jazz Master Recipients Announced

The 2018 NEA Jazz Master recipients were announced in Washington DC last night.

Pianist and composer Joanne Brackeen, vocalist Dianne Reeves, Club Owner and Producer Todd Barkan and guitarist and composer Pat Metheny have been added to the notable list.

“The NEA Jazz Masters represent the very pinnacle of talent, creativity, innovation, and vision,” said NEA Chairman Jane Chu. “We look forward to celebrating these four new Jazz Masters and their many contributions to jazz.”

The celebration will be April 16th, 2018 when the new recipient’s will receive their $25,000 award and take part in a tribute concert honouring their achievements.

Since 1982, the National Endowment for the Arts has awarded 149 fellowships to important players in jazz, including Ella Fitzgerald, Sonny Rollins, and Chick Corea. The full list of NEA Jazz Masters, including videos, podcasts, NEA Jazz Moments, and more – are available at


(Photo courtesy of Don Dixon at JAZZ LIVES 2015)