Philip Glass Awarded Glenn Gould Prize

This year, one of the most important composers of modern music, Philip Glass, has been chosen as the recipient of the Glenn Gould Prize.

Handed out every two years (starting in 2011), the Prize honours an “individual for a unique lifetime contribution that has enriched the human condition through the arts.”

Winners of the prize receive $50,000 as well as the award itself which is a statue by renowned Canadian sculptor Ruth Abernathy.

In addition to the prize each laureate is asked to choose a protégé who is awarded a $15,000 cash prize.

Past Glenn Gould Prize Laureates include Robert Lepage (2013), Leonard Cohen (2011), Yo-Yo Ma (1999) and Oscar Peterson (1993).